

# **OCC Academic Senate Executive Board Meeting Minutes**

Tuesday, September 10, 2024, 12:30-1:30 PM, College Center 227 & Zoom

Minutes approved on September 17, 2024

**E-Board Members in Attendance:** Vice-President Lee Gordon, PDI Chair and Secretary Marilyn Kennedy, Parliamentarian and Curriculum Chair Lori Pullman.

E-Board Members Absent: President Rendell Drew

Guests: Irene Naesse.

## I. Preliminary Matters

(Please note that the Presiding Officer's vote shall be recorded as an abstention, unless breaking a tie vote.)

- A. <u>Call to Order:</u> Vice- President Gordon called the meeting to order at 12:41 p.m. and presided over the meeting in the absence of **President Drew**.
- B. Public Comments: None.
- C. <u>Approval of the Minutes</u>: Motion 1: Secretary Kennedy moved to approve the September 3, 2024, minutes; minutes approved. Motion 2: Secretary Kennedy moved to approve the July 30, 2024, minutes with changes; minutes approved.
- D. Executive Board Member Reports: Vice-President Gordon talked about the District's full-time hiring freeze, the OCC full-time hiring prioritization process, and requested a roll call vote for these issues next week. The E-Board discussed the temporary semester replacement for the senator-at-large. There are three nominees so ballots will be sent out.

#### II. Discussion of Upcoming Agenda Items

A. <u>Future Meeting Agenda</u>: Senate Sept. 17: Student-Centered Funding Formula, BPAP Discussion on Policies Up for Revision, Full-Time Faculty Hiring Prioritization, Honors Advisory Committee Report. **E-Board Sept. 17:** RSI

### **III. Business**

- A. Selection of Committee Representatives for the Senate Agenda (by random drawing after reviewing each volunteer's required paragraph defense of interest. Minimum qualifications):
  - 1. Facilities Committee: Robert Ellis, selected.
  - **2. DEIA Committee:** Devyn Hartness, selected; Francisco Najora, alternate.
  - 3. Flex Committee: Devyn Hartness, Vu Phan, Francisco Najera.
  - **4. Student Success Committee:** Devyn Hartness, selected; Kelly Holt, alternate.
  - **5. College Council:** Kelly Holt, selected.
  - **6. IPC:** Kelly Holt, selected.
- **B.** Selection of Journalism Out-of-Discipline Tenure-Track Committee Representative: Rachel Ridnor, selected; Ginny Komenda, alternate; Glynis Hoffman, alternate.

## IV. Adjournment:

**Vice-President Gordon** adjourned the meeting at 1:11 p.m.